Mining History Association
Grants Program


The Mining History Association (MHA) Research Grant Program is open to all who are currently engaged in or who plan to conduct mining history research, including graduate students, academic scholars, public sector professionals in related disciplines, independent scholars, writers, and educators. Research may focus on technology, business, social and cultural life, the environment, or any other aspect of mining, its associated industries, and its communities. It may concentrate on any era or geographical location. The MHA does not discriminate on the basis of race, creed, age, national origin, sexual orientation or disability.

Recent Grant Recipients

2016 Bob Hutton, University of Tennessee, John Baeten, Michigan Tech, Nichelle Frank, University of Oregon

2015 Paul White, University of Alaska-Anchorage, Jane Bardal, Central New Mexico Community College, Nathan Delaney, Case Western Reserve University

2014 Angela Vergara, California State University-Los Angeles, Edward Melilo, Amherst College, Yesenia Barragan, Columbia University

2013 Thai Jones, Bard College; Pam Stek, University of Iowa; Serenity Sutherland, University of Rochester

2012 Patrick Allan Pospisek, Purdue University; Gage McKinney, Sunnydale, California; Teresa Houser, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Arielle Gorin, Yale University

2011 Leif Frederickson, University of Virginia; Tassie Katherine Hirschfeld, University of Oklahoma; Atlantic City (Wyoming) Historical Society.

2008 Brian Leech, University of Wisconsin.

2007 James McBride, Arizona State University; Renee Ross, Arizona State University; Scott F. See, Michigan Tech.

2006 Darby Moore-Doyle, Salt Lake City, Utah.

All contents copyright 2011. This is a ZStudios website.