2018 Mining History Association Tour

Awards Banquet
The Lodge at Deadwood
June 8, 2018




(Clockwise) Gathering for the Awards Banquet; Hitting the chow line; and Another outstanding buffet.


(Left) Johnny Johnsson announces the Rodman Paul Award winner, Robert Wolensky.

(Above) Ed Raines presents the Ed Hunter Distinguished Service Award to Diane Dudley.

(Above) Eric Clements (left) presents the John M. Townley Award to Roger Burt for the Best Paper in the 2014 Mining History Journal.


(Right) Brian Leech announces the 2017 MHA Research Grant Awards to Jeff Birkenstein, St. Martin’s University, Francesa Sanna, Paris 7 Diderot University, and Robrecht Declerca, Ghent University.

Rudy Davison accepts the 2017 Beselme-Orrell Heritage Award on behalf of the Rimrocker Historical Society of Naturita, Colorado.

Artist, Jeff Ellingson, accepts the 2012 Cherry Hunter Award for is works portraying historical mining scenes from the Black Hills.

Featured Speaker, Michael Hanley, Executive Director of South Dakota Science and Technology Authority, presents the story of the “Sanford Underground Research Facility – Past, Present, Future.”


Deciding how much to bid can sometimes be a problem.

The Silent Auction offered a tempting array of Deadwood souvenirs.

(Photos Courtesy of  Henry Djerlev, Johnny Johnsson and Mark Langenfeld

CLICK HERE for Photo Gallery 1 of 6

CLICK HERE to Return to the Black Hills Meeting Page

All contents copyright 2011. This is a ZStudios website.